• Virtual Story Time: Alienated

    When schools closed during lockdown, I read the entire novel of Alienated, chapter-by-chapter. It's the the fun, funny out-of-this world (mis)adventures of the only two human kids at the high school for aliens at Area 51. The videos are all on YouTube and archived on the blog here.

Memories of Mipcom

October 12, 2020
When I was growing up, Dave Nichol, the President of Loblaws, a big supermarket chain in Canada, used to travel around the world and come back with interesting ingredients and exotic spices that he’d proudly introduce to Canadians on television. This was before the internet and cheap travel, so the world was a much bigger ...
Read more

Sea Of Red (or: The Unbearable Weight Of What Feels Like Constant Rejection In Any Creative Endeavour Worth Pursuing)

October 1, 2020
The creative industries love success. It’s a hit driven business, with a Pareto distribution of results, and so it’s success that gets celebrated. When you read about a new show dropping on Netflix or making a splash on the BBC, it has already cleared hundreds and hundreds of hurdles. In management speak” this is called “success ...
Read more

A New Direction, A New Dominion

September 25, 2020
If you’ve been following this website (hi Mom!), you’ll know that for the past few years I’ve been writing & producing under the banner of “Awesome“, a company that started simply as the corporate vehicle for my debut novel and then pivoted into a TV production company with the backing of Kew Media Group. But, if ...
Read more
Empathy

Empathy

June 9, 2020
Today is Empathy Day, though I feel that every day should be empathy day. If you’ve read my books, or heard me speak, you know this is a word I care deeply about. There is a whole lot wrong with human beings, but one of the things we are capable of is empathy; at stepping into ...
Read more
Reading Alienated (the whole book!)

Reading Alienated (the whole book!)

March 17, 2020
When schools closed in March, and students suddenly engaging in remote learning, I decided to read my novel,  ALIENATED: GROUNDED AT GROOM LAKE, on YouTube, chapter-by-chapter. A type of “virtual class reader.” It’s a fun, funny middle-grade story, perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson. Star Wars, and Men In Black. All of the chapters ...
Read more