Author Archive | Jeff Norton

Memories of Mipcom

When I was growing up, Dave Nichol, the President of Loblaws, a big supermarket chain in Canada, used to travel around the world and come back with interesting ingredients and exotic spices that he’d proudly introduce to Canadians on television. This was before the internet and cheap travel, so the world was a much bigger […]

Read More 0

Sea Of Red (or: The Unbearable Weight Of What Feels Like Constant Rejection In Any Creative Endeavour Worth Pursuing)

The creative industries love success. It’s a hit driven business, with a Pareto distribution of results, and so it’s success that gets celebrated. When you read about a new show dropping on Netflix or making a splash on the BBC, it has already cleared hundreds and hundreds of hurdles. In management speak” this is called […]

Read More 0

A New Direction, A New Dominion

If you’ve been following this website (hi Mom!), you’ll know that for the past few years I’ve been writing & producing under the banner of “Awesome“, a company that started simply as the corporate vehicle for my debut novel and then pivoted into a TV production company with the backing of Kew Media Group. But, […]

Read More 2

Empathy

Today is Empathy Day, though I feel that every day should be empathy day. If you’ve read my books, or heard me speak, you know this is a word I care deeply about. There is a whole lot wrong with human beings, but one of the things we are capable of is empathy; at stepping […]

Read More 0

Reading Alienated (the whole book!)

When schools closed in March, and students suddenly engaging in remote learning, I decided to read my novel,  ALIENATED: GROUNDED AT GROOM LAKE, on YouTube, chapter-by-chapter. A type of “virtual class reader.” It’s a fun, funny middle-grade story, perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson. Star Wars, and Men In Black. All of the […]

Read More 54

World Book Day week 2020

I was pleased to get out into schools for World Book Day 2020. I spoke to thousands of students about creativity, reading, aliens, and knights… who ride dinosaurs! The tour was organized by Authors Aloud. Please contact them if you’d like me to come to your school or speak at your event. You can check […]

Read More 0

CAMEO Awards – March 9, 2020

UPDATE: This event has been cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak. Stay home everyone and stay safe. I’ll be speaking and presenting at the annual CAMEO awards, part of London Book Fair and the London Book & Screen Week. The CAMEOs celebrate the adaptation of books into other mediums, and it’s been an incredible year […]

Read More 0

Getting Alienated

I’ve been out on tour promoting my brand new novel, Alienated. It’s been such a pleasure to meet so many young readers, dedicated teachers and librarians, and independent book shop owners. I spoke about the inspiration for the book at an industry event at Waterstones, Covent Garden… And at West End Lane Books in West […]

Read More 0