Archive | Blog

Memories of Mipcom

When I was growing up, Dave Nichol, the President of Loblaws, a big supermarket chain in Canada, used to travel around the world and come back with interesting ingredients and exotic spices that he’d proudly introduce to Canadians on television. This was before the internet and cheap travel, so the world was a much bigger […]

Read More 0

Sea Of Red (or: The Unbearable Weight Of What Feels Like Constant Rejection In Any Creative Endeavour Worth Pursuing)

The creative industries love success. It’s a hit driven business, with a Pareto distribution of results, and so it’s success that gets celebrated. When you read about a new show dropping on Netflix or making a splash on the BBC, it has already cleared hundreds and hundreds of hurdles. In management speak” this is called […]

Read More 0

A New Direction, A New Dominion

If you’ve been following this website (hi Mom!), you’ll know that for the past few years I’ve been writing & producing under the banner of “Awesome“, a company that started simply as the corporate vehicle for my debut novel and then pivoted into a TV production company with the backing of Kew Media Group. But, […]

Read More 2

Empathy

Today is Empathy Day, though I feel that every day should be empathy day. If you’ve read my books, or heard me speak, you know this is a word I care deeply about. There is a whole lot wrong with human beings, but one of the things we are capable of is empathy; at stepping […]

Read More 0

Reading Alienated (the whole book!)

When schools closed in March, and students suddenly engaging in remote learning, I decided to read my novel,  ALIENATED: GROUNDED AT GROOM LAKE, on YouTube, chapter-by-chapter. A type of “virtual class reader.” It’s a fun, funny middle-grade story, perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson. Star Wars, and Men In Black. All of the […]

Read More 54

Getting Alienated

I’ve been out on tour promoting my brand new novel, Alienated. It’s been such a pleasure to meet so many young readers, dedicated teachers and librarians, and independent book shop owners. I spoke about the inspiration for the book at an industry event at Waterstones, Covent Garden… And at West End Lane Books in West […]

Read More 0

Alienated Blog Tour

Alienated is going on tour this week! Five different bloggers are hosting the book as part of the #AlienatedTour to promote the launch of the novel. Be sure to visit each blog for reviews and insights: Monday: Ellie at faerieontheshelf.wordpress.com Tuesday: Frances at ladybugbooks77.wordpress.com Wednesday: Tahlia at museofnyxmares.wordpress.com Thursday: Jessica at jessicabooksblog.wordpress.com Friday: Karen at letterpressproject.co.uk

Read More 0

Why Science Fiction Matters

With Naomi Alderman‘s ‘The Power’ still topping the book charts, the 13th Doctor hitting her stride on the BBC, and ‘The First’ launching on Channel 4, it’s worth remembering that Science Fiction matters as a genre. Sci-fi is the one genre that, no matter how dark, has hope built into it because it presumes humanity will continue to […]

Read More 0

Shoot for the Stars

Ever since I was little, I loved space. I was awestruck in first grade when my school packed us into the library to watch the Columbia take off. I was equally devastated in 1986 in middle-school, I watched the Challenger launch with the first civilian astronaut on board, only to tragically explode moments after lift-off. […]

Read More 0

Free Is Not An Option

Today I was fortunate enough to attend the TV Writers’ Festival hosted by the invaluable BBC Writers Room. During the panel with Piers Wenger (BBC head of drama), Victoria Fea (drama commissioner at itv), and Anna Hargreaves (drama executive at sky), someone in the audience (I believe writer/producer Chris Jury, but I was seated in […]

Read More 3