Tag Archives | literacy

Reading Alienated (the whole book!)

With schools closed and students engaging in remote learning, I have been reading my novel,  ALIENATED: GROUNDED AT GROOM LAKE, on YouTube, chapter-by-chapter. It’s a fun, funny middle-grade story, perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. All of the chapters are now archived below. If you want to read along with me, the […]

Read More 54

#UKMGchat

This evening I’ll be participating in the weekly twitter discussion, under hash-tag #UKMGchat.  It’s organised by the awesome Miriam & Lorraine for the benefit of all book-loving twitter folks around the world. I usually miss out because the 8 pm (British time) start time coincides with putting my kids to bed, and I have to […]

Read More 0

For the Boys

Yesterday at the London Book Fair, I participated in a panel hosted by publisher Lisa Edwards about boys and men reading. If you know me well, you know this is a subject I’m passionate about. I was a reluctant reader as a boy, and getting (and keeping) boys reading guides my writing. My goal is to […]

Read More 1

Getting my zombie on

Today I became a zombie. Well, technically I put on fake flesh wounds and grey make up and commuted (yes, via tube & train) to my first book tour event for ‘Memoirs of a Neurotic Zombie.’ Commuting in London rush hour this morning, I half expected a few people to at least blink, and even […]

Read More 0

Training Days – Notes on a Book Tour

(Note: A version of this post first appeared on Book Engine) Writing can be a lonely pursuit. I spend hours inside my own imagination, forming a meaningful relationship with my MacBook Pro and coffee machine. And so it was a wondrous break from this isolated routine when I embarked on my first book tour this […]

Read More 0