Blog b

Personal Statement about Ukraine

Personal Statement about Ukraine

March 18, 2022
For the past few weeks, I have been shocked and horrified by the events unfolding in Ukraine. I have personal friends and business colleagues in Ukraine, sheltering for the lives and fighting for their very right to exist. At the same time, I’m supposed to be gearing up for the book launch of the second Dino ...
Read more
Meta Memories

Meta Memories

January 17, 2022
I was reminded a few weeks ago when 2021 turned to 2022 that this is the 10th anniversary of the publication of the first MetaWars novel. How time flies! I first put pen to paper (yes, actual paper!) in the Spring of 2010. I’d left a senior job at a production company to embark on a ...
Read more
Going on (Virtual) Tour

Going on (Virtual) Tour

July 26, 2021
Every time a new book launches, one of the most fun things to accompany the launch is a series of in person events; usually school visits and book-shop signings. But, this being 2021, things were a big different this month when Dino Knights published from Scallywag Press. It was all virtual, and I went on ...
Read more
Dino Knights Publishes

Dino Knights Publishes

June 30, 2021
I’m super excited to share the Dino Knights publishes today from Scallywag Press, with incredible illustrations by artist Jeff Crosby. You can buy the book in bookshops or online Amazon, Waterstones, Hive and the new Bookshop.org initiative that links your purchase to your local indie bookshop. This novel has been a long time coming. You see, the idea for DINO KNIGHTS came ...
Read more

Memories of Mipcom

October 12, 2020
When I was growing up, Dave Nichol, the President of Loblaws, a big supermarket chain in Canada, used to travel around the world and come back with interesting ingredients and exotic spices that he’d proudly introduce to Canadians on television. This was before the internet and cheap travel, so the world was a much bigger ...
Read more

Sea Of Red (or: The Unbearable Weight Of What Feels Like Constant Rejection In Any Creative Endeavour Worth Pursuing)

October 1, 2020
The creative industries love success. It’s a hit driven business, with a Pareto distribution of results, and so it’s success that gets celebrated. When you read about a new show dropping on Netflix or making a splash on the BBC, it has already cleared hundreds and hundreds of hurdles. In management speak” this is called “success ...
Read more

A New Direction, A New Dominion

September 25, 2020
If you’ve been following this website (hi Mom!), you’ll know that for the past few years I’ve been writing & producing under the banner of “Awesome“, a company that started simply as the corporate vehicle for my debut novel and then pivoted into a TV production company with the backing of Kew Media Group. But, if ...
Read more
Empathy

Empathy

June 9, 2020
Today is Empathy Day, though I feel that every day should be empathy day. If you’ve read my books, or heard me speak, you know this is a word I care deeply about. There is a whole lot wrong with human beings, but one of the things we are capable of is empathy; at stepping into ...
Read more
Reading Alienated (the whole book!)

Reading Alienated (the whole book!)

March 17, 2020
When schools closed in March, and students suddenly engaging in remote learning, I decided to read my novel,  ALIENATED: GROUNDED AT GROOM LAKE, on YouTube, chapter-by-chapter. A type of “virtual class reader.” It’s a fun, funny middle-grade story, perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson. Star Wars, and Men In Black. All of the chapters ...
Read more
Getting Alienated

Getting Alienated

November 24, 2018
I’ve been out on tour promoting my brand new novel, Alienated. It’s been such a pleasure to meet so many young readers, dedicated teachers and librarians, and independent book shop owners. I spoke about the inspiration for the book at an industry event at Waterstones, Covent Garden… And at West End Lane Books in West Hampstead, I ...
Read more